27. Unity Villa

Have you lived in a house of 18 boys  and you have to cook rice and share in 18 places? The fish is barely scattered in the stew and they all stand around to pick their plates for a quick lunch. Yes. Unity Villa was an experience and it keeps giving me memories. Memories to salivate on or sometimes even just “smh”.

Unity Villa, a plastered bungalow, about a kilometre from the main junction was where I stayed for over three years in FUNAAB. There I found out what a happier world it would be if the world was more equal. Hardly any difference between indigenes and students, we lived like a large family of lost parents.

There was this warning that mothers gave their daughters, to be very afraid of Unity Villa.

“Are, awon omo UNAABU, sora fun won, bi won se gbe dudu, ni won gbe pupa”  mothers told their daughter in thick accent.

An early experience of a lady in our area who was a student of Polytechnic Ibadan made this ring well.  Sisi’s mother would pack stockfish, rice, palm oil and everything packable when she was about to return to school. But these girls won’t listen. They won’t. After taking a bike saying goodbye to her family members, Sisi just stopped midway to spend another three days enjoying the juice between the groin.

But you know these stories get passed around. Her mother later found out that her daughter meant to be in school was co-habiting few houses away. It was not funny. In thick Egba accent

“Bode, omo tan ran ni ile iwe”

“Won ti n basun, ah aye mi oo”

[Come out, a child that we are sending to school that some fellow is sleeping with, just look at my life ]

It was not an exciting spectacle till Sisi had to be moved to another room. Her mother did not notice while she was engaged in a chatter and was made to see an empty room. That’s how to live in a nearly full boys’ house of nine rooms. We only reserved a room for a lady.

We sang, laughed, partied and even fought. I once tried to break a bottle just to harass Olukokun Deji who was testing my will. I could not.

Odunayo was having a birthday party and I didn’t know how I downed a full bottle of “Ponche”. I was eyeing a Deeper Life lady that period who also came around. Seeing me doing that after being taunted by friends just made her lose hope. I was not up for redemption. After taking that drink, I decided to go to another party hosted by Osagie and friends, few blocks away. I did not know how I got home after missing some dance steps. The only thing I remembered was that I woke up on a cement floor with mosquitoes feasting on my body. I was not alone. We were like four people. It was a dump room for drunks. For days, I lost appetite, drinking glucose. My room mate, Muri had washed up the room and myself. That was my man. Muri was one student who will prostrate fully, I meant fully for me without shame. True omo Ibadan.

I owed the landlord for months who didn’t really care to take his monthly rent of N600. There was a very troublesome but so likeable woman who sold us food – Iya Ife . She had a list of how much everyone owed. I was not one the top list of debtors but I had this very stinging insult culled from Haruna Ishola’s Sule Maito track, that she so hated:

“Owo ti Onigbinde ba na ni ojumo, ti Iya Ife ba na ni odun kan, ori se ni”

[The money Onigbinde spends in a day, if Iya Ife tries to spend  that in a year, she is truly wealthy. ]

With Niyi (Pressy), Odun, Dipo, Deji, Bunmi, Sula, Muri, Tayo, Seedorf, Bora, Ibrahim and many more these memories fail me, I truly had a good time. From supporting my early dreams for Vision Plus Network and UNAABSU Presidency attempt, scolding when my laptop got fully burnt, they were like brothers and fathers to me. This was home.

When I left Unity Villa, I actually took nothing except my mattress and few books. Actually what else did I have in my room –  a blue rug,  reading table and chair, wooden wall hangers and a pile of clothes.

No TV, radio or DVD. If a girl was visiting me, I quickly dashed to the next room to borrow radio and TV and  patiently wait.

What a life, a very simple one.

What if it remained that simple, full of  happiness and too little care of the fleeting things of the world.

One thought on “27. Unity Villa

  1. Looooool… Can’t stop laughing. Chai u brought up some good memories here. Unity Villa;no saint lives there and remain the same, dose guys would corrupt you with or without your consent. You remember how we gather to get situation report whenever a lady visits any one of us? You remember how we gave each room a stadium name to depict how strong it was being used for….. (coughs)… lol. Boiz would always be boiz sha, can’t believe we would sometimes climb the ceiling jst to catch a glimpse of any action. Every one knew how cool and nice unity villa boiz could be, but they know much more how it was a 3unit course to woo all the ladies in the area. Iya ife was the chief informant to the mothers in the area.

    Seun I remember that fight we had, I think u accidentally jumped on my posh Motorola Blade and the screen broke, that led to the fracas..(olorun o ti e le rara, we can like to shakara u…lol).

    Chai, Iya ife and that debtors exercise book, It was like a bible we get to read everyday. Sometimes she would even refuse to release anything until we clear the backlog of debts we had. Garri was the lifeline for every hunger. It’s amazing how we ate meals together. There’s nothing like I am cooking for myself, no one takes permission to join in the meal as long as there were on time when the food was ready.

    We were so United that most of us joined the Leo Club and we became a threat during auctions period. We were known as unity villa Leos and we wld always do collabo just to take home the auction.

    Seun can u remember when we removed the transformer fuse and kept it in our place for more than 3weeks keeping the area in darkness? I also remembered when we revolted when the bike men increased the fare to ajegunle and the chairman had to come to the house to have a meeting. You remember when I placed a bet on you that you would finish the then #200 naira bread without drinking water? I remember you almost finished it but gave up the challenge with jst some bites to go. Chai, we did many crazy things I swear. You remember Tasce runs?….. Lol Honestly we made Ajegunle fun filled. Little wonder people cried when we graduated.

    I told myself when I moved in 100 level that I was going to leave in 200l considering how far our crib was to school, but the fun, love and craze of that house kept me there until we graduated. We were truly brothers and a big family, little wonder the bond is still very strong years after we left school. I love and really miss you guys. Now that you are tieing the knot soon, I guess I would be the last man standing… Lol

    Ogun Omo o le sere fun ogun odun, but our own ogun Omo has played and remained brothers for ogun odun. God continually bless us all.

Leave a Reply

