29. Joseph Agunbiade and the missionaries 

An ongoing discourse is that when it comes to seeding a company, it is wise to find a partner.  Microsoft, Google, Apple have taken this patterns why not BudgIT?

Coming up with the BudgIT would always need that early belief. I don’t write codes or programs. I am just the budget guy who needs a tech partner. Joseph came late to that hackathon and I didn’t see that we would have gone that far. But as a co-founder of BudgIT, we went far. We still going further. 

After sharing the BudgIT prize money after the hackathon , I just thought we would rest this. Time and time again, Joseph proved to be that support. How many developers were out there who could see the vision? Maybe it did not glow in his face like mine nor took hold of him like being possessed of a thousand demons but Joseph saw it too. He saw the vision when we offered the black screen with tiny circles as our first website.

I would sleep in his house.  I would eat his food, fight then we make up like two lovers without an exit door. I always wanted it fast, believing his fingers must do the magic. Time and time, I would sulk like a baby but we kept it on.

We had it all, the naivety of the start, the highs, lows and valleys of doubt but as thing moved on we found our spaces, our happiness. He knew I had one obsession, it was BudgIT. I can’t but thank Sunkanmi Agbomeji, Jibola that made a sketch and suggested an idea while this was finding form.

On the day of my Dad’s funeral, BudgIT website was briefly down and I stumbled on it. Despite the burden of grief, I still looked at him with anger and screamed while we journeyed back home. 

“Can Google be down, so why is BudgIT down?”

Every man has got his madness and it was that extreme because running  a business like is taking your breath, you want don’t want to lose it. 

As we go on and as I have found that when you start an entity, you worry about capital to keep it afloat. Finding a repeated product pattern and value proposition will keep the product going but what really is the bigger worry is truly the PEOPLE, the missionaries, in the journey of the enterprise.

I begin to learn clearly why organizations have human resource departments because to truly what makes an organization tick, check the people, check the organizational culture. 

That for me is the constant worry – how do I lead a mission-driven team not mercenaries? That’s why hiring wrongly has to be the biggest scare of an entrepreneur. How do we keep delivering exceptional value, learning fast, failing faster and innovating for the citizens? That’s a puzzle that I mull over daily.

It is already greying me gradually with tiny white patches in my hair. It makes me nag when you take a sit at BudgIT and watch how I scream from desk to desk. 

People.

Leave a Reply

